Hacking Sites

Posted: March 5, 2014 in Other eve related things

*** Feb 24 ***

Hacking sites are bad. Where you used to have to kill several rats that were guarding the site and wait for the can to open and grab the loots you deserved, CCP decided to implement new mini games that can be done with a single Covert Ops or T1 probing frigate. At first I thought they were fun, but now I am starting to get annoyed by them.

There is nothing wrong with the mini game itself and don’t get me wrong, when I am absolutely bored I even like to run a few. You have to click your way trough a grid and battle the viruses that pop up and have their own special abilities. Sometimes you get special abilities yourself, which you can activate or use against them. When you defeat the core you have successfully hacked the can.

n39cug

Where is that (sensored) Core!

Now it might be me being absolutely bad at them with my hacking and probing skills at level 4, but I am not going to train 30 days worth of hacking skills to be slightly better at this. One of these sites takes a lot of clicking and if you are unlucky almost ten minutes to complete one can. Usually there are six cans of different levels. So for me it takes about 30 to 45 minutes for one site if not more, which can fetch me in between only 5! and a good 50 mil worth of loots if extremely lucky.

On top of that, when you have finally opened one of those rare cans that has precious T2 loots (which are becoming less and less precious, but I’ll explain that later) the can pops open and a lot of small cans fly off in different directions and explode one at a time. I am starting to think that all these sites are here because the guys that owned them loved their bombs way too much. Anyhow, click on the little cans and the ship will start pulling them in. While you pull in one can you can click on the next one giving the analyzer or hacking module the order to pull that one in next. Now if you are fast and lucky enough not to click a scrap can you might fetch about 60% of the loots that was on your cargo scanner and pray that your character knows how to disable the little bombs inside the cans pulled.

I bet people with the right skills are very happy with these sites, because they can cope with the hard to crack cans and their precious, but gettling less precious T2 loots. It hasn’t happened once or twice that I probe down a site and see that just one or two cans were hacked and the prober moved on to the next site in another system. And why not? The other cans are simply not worth it with their T1 loots and crappy research materials that are worth almost nothing.

Also back in the days you were happy that there was a hacking, scanning or salvage site popping up, because they were actually quite rare. But nowadays these things spawn everywhere! Sometimes with 5 or 6 of them at the same time in one system! This has made the market for T1 and T2 rigs crash hard and resulted in very cheap T2 rigs, making even a T2 rigged Thorax nothing special anymore. Maybe CCP wanted this to happen, in that case, congratulations CCP, well done!

But this all made my way of running these hacking and data sites very simple though. I speed towards the can with the lowest hacking effort, often the rubble one with scrap and such and complete the little puzzle, which is often doable with my crappy hacking skills. I leave the useless rubble floating out there in space for anyone who wants to grab it and speed towards the other cans. There I start hacking with analyzer 1, but instead of completing the puzzle I click on the little cross in the corner, which closes the puzzle and tells you the hack has failed. I start hacking again with analyzer 2 and do the same. The can explodes leaving me with nothing to loot and I move on to the next can until the site is done. Why completing this one can Stacey? Well very simple, thinking you are really bad at this when you fail all of them, CCP decided to spawn a new site for you to try again, almost next to the one you ran.

Making Relic and Data sites go away Buzzard setup
Covert Ops Cloaking Device II
Expanded Probe Launcher I – 8 Sister core scanner probes

Limited 1MN Microwarpdrive I
Data Analyzer I
Data Analyzer I
Relic Analyzer I
Relic Analyzer I

Micro Auxiliary Power Core I
Warp Core Stabilizer II

Small Gravity Capacitor Upgrade I
Small Gravity Capacitor Upgrade I

So why running them this way Stacey? I want the old sites back. They were more fun and risky, because you actually needed a T3 cruiser, which could be tackled and ransomed with a sensor boosted Arazu. Also with the relic and data sites gone, hopefully other sites will spawn in the region. Gas sites that are actually useful for booster production. Or even better, combat sites that provide content in the form of juicy battleships or T3 cruisers that want to run them and can also be ransomed or killed by us pirates.

Leave a Reply

