Action Report 5: A wormhole welcome

Posted: April 2, 2014 in Action Reports

Proteus

Both girls got a lot of mails often with the question when they will return to the alliance and every time their answer was the same: we don’t know. Both ladies didn’t want to think about returning just yet, they had a lot to learn and both had their own missions. Gaby went to a corporation called Banjo Bandits and will stay there for 2 weeks. With her excellent standings of 9.40 for the Republic Security Service her friends will be able to get their much needed jump clones for just 100.000 isk each.

Stacey had a more urgent job. She had to find the illusive C6 wormhole J112417 owned by the Disavowed. alliance, which they called Valhalla or Home. At first I thought it would be an easy thing, but soon I found out that a C6 can be hard to reach. I had to be patient.

I had a lot of help from a cool program that shows all wormholes connected to the C6. Stacey is linked on it, so whenever she enters one of the wormholes her name shows up, which is pretty cool.

Vippy

But even so, the highsec entrances are being destroyed or put into critical mode quickly by Orca and Freighter pilots needing materials to make capital ships. It shows with the red line and it will be a hellish job to get all the stuffs I want to use inside. On top of that, can this alliance be trusted? And most of all, will they trust me?

So I started with step number one. Lets try and get into this illusive C6 wormhole and try and probe for other wormholes and their sites before using my guns. At first I thought about a covert ops frigate or one of those new Sisters of Eve ships. But in the end I went for a Proteus. It is strong, has a nice bonus and both ladies can fly one. On top of that, it can be easily refit for pvp purposes, which I am not going to do just yet. I need to practice my probing skills first and learn not to be afraid of wormholes.

Stacey’s Scanning Proteus
Covert Ops Cloaking Device II
Heavy Neutron Blaster II
Heavy Neutron Blaster II
Heavy Neutron Blaster II
Heavy Neutron Blaster II
Sisters Expanded Probe Launcher

Experimental 10MN Microwarpdrive I
Faint Epsilon Warp Scrambler I
Fleeting Propulsion Inhibitor I

1600mm Reinforced Steel Plates II
Damage Control II
Energized Explosive Membrane II
Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane II
Magnetic Field Stabilizer II
Magnetic Field Stabilizer II

Medium Trimark Armor Pump II
Medium Trimark Armor Pump II
Medium Trimark Armor Pump II

Proteus Defences – Augmented Plating
Proteus Electronics – Emergent Locus Analyzer
Proteus Engineering – Augmented Capacitor Reserve
Proteus Offensive – Covert Reconfiguration
Proteus Propulsion – Interdiction Nullifier

Caldari Navy Antimatter, Null and Void ammunition
Core and Combat scanner probes
Nanite Repair Paste

And of course I added some Spiced Wine, for when Stacey gets lost and needs a drink while trying to find her way out.

The alliance and corporation members were all talking about making huge amounts of isk in their wormhole and for them this fit is like a big laugh. Stacey, you are doing it wrong. It needs Faction hardeners or even better, deadspace hardeners. It needs faction damage modules and of course a faction microwarpdrive and faction tackle on top of that. But, even though I sold almost all of my 0.0 stuffs and added a small 10 billion isk to the wallet I thought I would not spend it all right away.

I waited a few days and made a little list of ships I wanted to bring. 2 Guardians, 2 Proteusses and 2 Scimitars should do for now together with 4 Ventures to mine some gas and make some isk. But first things first. The program showed that there was a great entrance and I was ready, Stacey was ready and Gaby was laughing at Stacey. Laugh all you want little lady, you will be next! Here we go:

  • Proteus – check!
  • Proteus Subsystems – Check!
  • Proteus Fittings – Check!
  • Drones, Ammunition and Nanites – Check!
  • Alcohol – Check!
  • New Implants – Check!
  • New clone – Check!
  • Clonejump – 4 hours and 57 minutes – NOOO!

I had to wait several hours before I could get into my new jump clone specifically made for the Proteus. But the next day it was a go. According to the program the chain was still up, but I had to scan my way through. Excellent practice, but holy molly! Even with the faction probe launcher, the faction probes, the probing bonus and my level 4 probing skills it was almost impossible to probe out something. It was like all my probes were confused. False readings, multiple dots everywhere and when I finally had one of those dots it showed it was a gas or hacking site. Help, how am I going to find my way trough these wormholes!

Again, take it slow. If there is one thing I learned from the Viperfleet members it is that you have to be very patient and relaxed. That means instead of speedy shield repair Stacey, I had to become a patient probing Stacey.

If worked. After cursing at the screen after yet another failed attempt to find the next wormhole leading to the alliance C6, I finally found the wormhole I needed and after cursing yet some more I had found the illusive C6 J112417. A little cheer was had behind the pc and of course I was going to check out the posses and bookmarks linked in the system. I took my time and slow boated around and eventually I found a tower I could enter and where I could relax and think.

Showing VFI above the tower created by the pos gunners to welcome new members, the alliance left me a little present to try and test my loyalty. A large Archon carrier was drifting outside the force field all fitted up and abandoned, probably after running a site or repairing a few modules. First, both ladies can’t fly a carrier and second, even if I would tell my friends about this, how would they be able to take the carrier out of the wormhole in one piece? I had to laugh and even thought about bumping the carrier back into the force field. But downtime was calling and who cared anyways. These guys have plenty of isk, they don’t care about a carrier. Better leave the ship alone and pass the loyalty test.

Now it is time for step two, to try and find out more about wormholes and the many traps and goodies they have. My corp members linked me a nice video about the wormholes and how to scan and hunt in them. It is a must see for wormhole newbees like myself:

Leave a Reply

