Action Report 7: The Reunion

Posted: July 13, 2014 in Action Reports

‘I’d hate to fight the worm responsible for all these wormholes in New Eden.’

– Stacey Starwolf, YC114

Being back from real life I hopped into my favorite world of eve online and wanted to try something new. The alliance was still recovering from what looked like an internal power stuggle and I felt hesitant to move my ships into our new C6 J133906, called REDRUM. So I started looking for a new wormhole to house my drug production and gas reactions. Of course all temporarily until I could settle in the C6 again.

Stacey had made a little list of wormholes that had her interest. Little amount of planets to prevent hostiles from invading, enough planetary interaction to get your own tower fuel and preferably a highsec entrance to get stuffs in and out pretty easily. So my epic voyage trough highsec to find one of the holes marked took me a whole 1 jump from Jita to a C1 called J170949, a class 1 wormhole with only 4 moons of which a few were taken with large dead towers. Things didn’t go as planned.

*** Jul 12 ***

2014.07.10.11.23.28

Day 1

Dear Diary. While planning to destroy the towers with the Dark Alliance. in J170949 and occupy the wormhole, I was suddenly messaged by two old friends of mine, Mal Isbad and Bnizzle, the last one part of Ocularis Inferno. Apparently they had found a juicy, but horribly fitted tower in a C3 wormhole called J212304 and wanted to take the wormhole for themselves. Well, isn’t this great, while I was searching for a new wormhole my friends wanted to claim one. Lets join in on the fun!

I contacted Jordan from the Dark Alliance. and he wanted to join in as well. In Jita lots of hugs were shared and I had asked Scotty to outfit the shield Ishtars with some faction drones and a probe launcher. We don’t want to get stuck inside a wormhole and having to selfdestruct now do we? Things started off great. The highsec entrance to J212304 was found and we all warped to the fleet leader who was already reinforcing the medium Caldari tower, which was indeed silly defended with only jamming modules.

Initially they tried killing the tower with T3 battlecruisers, but with the Vexor Navy Issues and Ishtars being able to do damage while being jammed by the jamming modules I was happy I had brought my Ishtar for this job. Within an evening we had reinforced the tower and 3 customs offices owned by the PublicRelations corporation and their friends.

Day 2

Mal wasn’t feeling well and had accidentallly targetted one of our own members and deployed his drones. Fortunately no real damage was done and there were no DED officers to punish him for his mistake. We did manage to reinforce another customs office though, turning the customs offices in reinforce mode at 4 now.

In the afternoon I told Mal to set up a tower just in case the enemy tower modules would contain juicy loots for us to take and of course it was nice to have a safe heaven in case things go wrong. No don’t fit any modules, we want them to fight us silly Mal.

Day 3

Dear Diary. The first customs office died without any issues whatsoever. 9 Hours after this the tower will run out of Strontium Clathrates and get vulnerable. On top of that, the tower will get out of reinforce mode just before downtime, which will regenerate the shields again. If I wake up early I will kill office number 2.

Poco 1: http://eve-kill.net/?a=kill_detail&kll_id=24321701

I slept well and destroyed another customs office, but it was time to destroy the tower and one of the hostiles got online. He logged off quickly though and the Vexors and Ishtars were ready for combat. Brockmist had joined us with his Stratios. It was like a reunion and some of the members said this was one of the biggest fleets since the breakup of Disband and the scattering of its members.

The tower went down quickly without any problems too and a big blast could be seen troughout the system. For a moment I thought that they would have evacuated their ships during our little nap, but the maintenance bay dropped a fully fitted Venture and a Badger. The hangar was filled with lovely stuffs too, which fetched us a lot of isk.

Loots

Poco 2: http://eve-kill.net/?a=kill_detail&kll_id=24325142

Tower: http://eve-kill.net/?a=kill_detail&kll_id=24348943

On top of that we reinforced customs office number 5, 6 and 7 which means that there are now 5 customs offices in reinforce mode, ready to be taken out in a couple of days.

Day 4

Dear Diary. Today I relaxed. The offices we had put into reinforce mode have a two day timer, which means that there is nothing to shoot today. I don’t feel like reinforcing any more of them, especially while being alone, that just takes ages. Mal is still sick, maybe it has something to do with the strange effects that are in this wormhole. It is good to see my friends again, but they have no idea how wormhole life works, so I keep sending them screenshots of our wormhole mapper to show them which signatures are inside the wormhole and which systems are attached to it. They want a program like that too and I am not surprised, because the Disavowed. wormhole mapper is awesome.

Day 5

Mal was late and Brockmist was going on a holiday. Bnizzle and his friends were all having a drink, so Gaby, Zhuge, Bax and me had to do it ourselves. Just before we started I probed down a new signature. Apparently a C2 wormhole had connected to ours. J155620 had about 10 towers all owned by Upholders alliance and a Proteus was on scan with core scanner probes, so they were active. Bax kept an eye out for hostiles, while the first of the five reinforced offices went down.

Poco 3: http://eve-kill.net/?a=kill_detail&kll_id=24347807

We started working on the second reinforced office, but I got a bad feeling in my tummy and told Gaby, Zhuge and Bax to spread out. In a star formation we started on the office when suddenly a Loki popped up on scan, followed by a few battlecruisers. While Gaby and I warped to planet 2, Zhuge and Bax warped to the tower. As they arrived a Devoter warped in at range and bubbled up. A close call. However, I got stuck on planet 2 and started making safespots. At the safe probes were launched and I told Gaby to follow me towards the highsec exit. We warped in at range and fortunately there was no one there. Lets head back towards the safespot and warp in at 0km. It was a bad idea. While I landed their fleet landed with me and quickly I ordered Gaby to stay at her safe while I had to jump out. Gabryella now all by herself on the safespot got scared and faced a Sleipnir, 10 various T1 and faction battlecruisers, a Rapier, a Devoter, a Loki and at least 1 Proteus all looking for her.

So I stayed on the wormhole in Kiras hoping the entire fleet would warp to it and they did. The bubble went down on the tower, which gave Gabryella the opportunity to warp to the tower and come to her senses behind the safety of the shield. After a long wait our hostiles had finished our job by killing the customs office themselves and I had moved to Jita to pick up some stuffs.

Target

Poco 4: http://eve-kill.net/?a=kill_detail&kll_id=24348392

We were in for an even bigger surprise when they had set up their own customs office, probably hoping we would reinforce it to stage a fight. I told everyone we shouldn’t. Not only would it be a very long stay inside our spaceships shooting at structures, but we had what we wanted and there are better wormholes to occupy out there.

Day 6

Dear Diary. Being unexperienced will lead to death. My Providence glided trough space gently with our loots and all that was left were our tower and the many customs offices that had survived our attack. Mal had unanchored the tower and Nefayn decided to pick her up while I was on my way to Jita. A bomber was spotted before, but screams were yelled on the coms: ‘They are trying to take our tower!’ I hurried back with my Raptor interceptor and jumped into the wormhole. A lot of things went wrong. Nefayn in the hauler got killed before I got to the tower: http://eve-kill.net/?a=kill_detail&kll_id=24354523 + 21 mil pod. I engaged the bomber straight away, but they had help from a Sabre and a Blackbird which warped in to help out. However, maybe amazed by my flying skills they warped to a safespot at 200km away.

A Caracal joined and when they found out that a little Interceptor can’t do much against a 4 man fleet they warped back and I slowly started plinking away shields from the bomber. Bnizzle uncloaked with the Proteus and our enemies warped away besides the Blackbird which I quickly tackled. I bet the Blackbird pilot panicked a bit, but eventually he did what he did best and jammed both Bnizzle and me and warped away.

I was bombarded with messages. ‘Who are you? You are preventing us from taking the tower!’ So I started a little chat. In the meanwhile our FC had disconnected and Gaby had fleet control. Unfortunately she didn’t have any fleet skills, so I had to take over fleet command while fighting on the wormhole exit. On top of that people were asking to be invited and hoped to get a bookmark to the wormhole exit. And all this was happening at the same time!

My computer screen went crazy and I told everyone to relax on chat. First I ordered Gaby to give me fleet control. Members got invited and when that was done I had Gaby sit on the highsec exit, so people could warp to her and join the fight while bookmarking the wormhole entrance and exit themselves. On top of that I wanted people to stay put while our FC got back online. During my chat with Merruk I had found out that he and his friends were a bunch of new players that had caused all the panic and they had no idea what was going on and who was with who.

Of course I lied and told him that I was fighting the Nyan guys together with Brock from Foolish Intentions, but unfortunately his friends were scared, gave up and left the wormhole. So besides the bomber in system everything was safe and when I arrived in the Impel I could gently scoop the tower and just jump back into highsec with Gabryella and our enemies fighting other enemies, of which almost all were our friends closeby to protect me.

Day 7

Dear Diary. Yes, a lot went wrong during the past week, but also a lot of things went right thanks to my experience gained with the awesome guys from Disavowed. Overall it was a lot of fun to see my friends again and to see them having fun. With only 2 losses (the hauler loss and Mal his silly ‘lets go rat during an invasion’ loss: http://eve-kill.net/?a=kill_detail&kll_id=24342493) but over a billion isk worth of loot, the whole operation was a success and I think the lessons they learned were even worth more. A new tower is already set up in a C2 wormhole called J132918 that has a few hostile towers ready to be destroyed. This wormhole might be the one they are looking for and the one I can use for my illegal drug activities.

But first things first. We all got 75 million isk for our troubles, which is a sweet sum and I am going to spend my isk on some new shoes before I’ll head out again.

Leave a Reply

